Pitlochry Festival Theatre
In 1951 the Pitlochry Festival Theatre was created in a tent. A year later gales brought about its demise and it was then replaced by a semi-permanent construction designed to last ten years. In 1981 this was replaced by the present purpose-built theatre. This low edifice fits well into the stunning Pitlochry scenery and the riverside environment. Built of brick with an external single storey construction on two sides for a box office and administration, the theatre underwent a remodelling of the foyer and entrance hall in 1993 and was again refurbished in 1999-2000. The auditorium has raked seating with good sightlines to the proscenium arch stage. The grid has 15 counterweight single purchase lines and 16 five-line hemp sets – an unusual arrangement. This is a theatre which works well and provides for tourists as well as the community. The acoustics are good for both music and the spoken word. The bars, coffee bar and the Festival restaurant make pleasant surroundings.
- 1951 Design/Construction: semi-permanent structure replacing a tentJohn Stewart & Kenneth Ireland- Architect
- 1953 Owner/Management: Pitlochry Festival Theatre, continuing
- 1981 Alteration: with Perth & Kinross District Council Architects Department, new buildingLaw & Dunbar-Nasmith- Architect
- 1993 - 2000 Alteration: Array various remodellings and improvementsLaw & Dunbar-Nasmith- Architect
- ListingNot listed